Soundcellar logo V2



Thurs 9th Jan - Thokozile

Admission £12       

The Afro beat grooves of the six piece THOKOZILE COLLECTIVE return to SoundCellar! Modern classics mix with African standards and originals to create a joyous mix for the feet as well as the head and heart.


Dan Somogyi - keyboards/guitar

Jon Lloyd - sax

Terry Quinney- sax

Rob Palmer - guitar

Jack Shaughnessy - bass

Neil Evans - drums


Thurs 23rd Jan - AfuriKo

Admission £10    

New York based world jazz duo AFURIKO return to SoundCellar with their African inspired grooves. They celebrate traditional heritage from around the world through the prism of spellbinding rhythms and eccentric harmonies. The duo are on a tour that will take them to South America, Europe, and Asia to promote their new album Tao (2019). Successfully funded on Kickstarter and released to critical acclaim with reviews on All About Jazz and Festival Peak, Tao is a shamanic jazz journey from ancestral Africa to NYC, steeped in deep grooves with shades of Funk, Pop, Reggae, Bulgarian, and Enka music.


Akiko Horii - percussion

Jim Funnell - keyboards


Thurs 6th Feb - The Rachael Calladine Band

Admission £12

Leading soul jazz vocalist RACHAEL CALLADINE makes her SoundCellar debut. Rachael has over 35 appearances at Ronnie Scotts London and regular shows at The 606 Club London as well as other top U.K. and European venues under her belt. Recently back on U.K. soil after 10 years singing in Dubai she brings you a great night of jazz, soul and funk with her world class band who have collectively worked with Chrissie Hind, Kurt Elling, Sting, Manu Kache, D’Influence, Bjork and Jim Mullen.


Rachael Calladine - vocals

Jim Watson - keyboards

Marcel Stranis -  bass

Pascal Consoli - drums


Thurs 20th Feb - The Jeremy Stacey Quartet featuring Jason Rebello        

Admission £15    

World class drummer JEREMY STACEY returns to SoundCellar with a quartet featuring UK jazz legend JASON REBELLO on keyboards. Jeremy recently toured the world as a member of King Crimson and his numerous credits include Tom Jones, Sheryl Crow, Steven Wilson, Eric Clapton, The Finn Brothers, Noel Gallagher, Eurythmics, Joe Cocker, Robbie Williams, Jim Mullen, Iain Ballamy, Tim Garland & many others. Celebrated British jazz pianist Jason Rebello was labelled a veteran by critics at 19 and over the next decade won most of the major jazz music awards. For 6 years Jason recorded and toured as a member of Sting's band. This was followed by 6 years of recording and touring with guitar icon Jeff Beck. Jason has also worked with Wayne Shorter, Gary Burton, Branford Marsallis, Tommy Smith, Jean Toussaint and Tim Garland plus artists across the musical spectrum such as Peter Gabriel, Phil Collins, Pee Wee Ellis, Joss Stone, Madeline Peyroux and Manu Katche.


Jeremy Stacey - drums

Jason Rebello - keyboards

James Gardiner-Bateman - sax

Jonathan Harvey -  bass


Thurs 5th March - The Tassos Spiliotopoulos Quartet    

Admission £12  

Greek guitarist TASSOS SPILIOTOPOULOS returns to SoundCellar with his Swedish quartet featuring award-winning saxophonist JONAS KNUTSSON. Tasso was based in London for 12 years and during this time he collaborated with some of the UK's most acclaimed jazz musicians including Kenny Wheeler, Gary Husband, Asaf Sirkis, Mike Outram and John Etheridge. Now a resident of Stockholm Sweden, he has released three albums in his own name with the most recent one, 'In The North' being his first collaboration with Swedish musicians.


Tassos Spiliotopoulos – guitar

Jonas Knutsson – saxophone

Robert Erlandsson – bass

Fredrik Rundqvist – drums


Thurs 19th March – Joel Harrison with David Binney, Michael Janisch and Gerald Cleaver  


Acclaimed American guitarist JOEL HARRISON returns to Europe with a stellar USA band that features long-time collaborator DAVID BINNEY (alto saxophone), MICHAEL JANISCH (double bass) and GERALD CLEAVER (drums). The night in part focuses on Joel’s new Whirlwind Recordings album, Still Point: Turning World with new arrangements of the album material, alongside a range of his compositions from his 20 solo recordings. His eclectic albums as a leader have featured artists such as Brian Blade, Norah Jones and Nels Cline. Described as ‘protean and brilliant’ by the New York Times, guitarist/composer/vocalist Harrison has ‘created a new blueprint for jazz’ (New Orleans Times Picayune). His solo albums showcase a unique ability to shape sound from disparate sources, veering across the globe into rock, country, American roots music, Indian, West African, classical and more.


His long-time ally David Binney is one of the greatest saxophonists of our time, possessing ‘one of the most original minds in contemporary music’ according to Stereophile Magazine. David has recorded and performed with a host of contemporary jazz legends including Bill Frisell, Chris Potter, Jim Hall, Wayne Krantz, Donny McCaslin and many others.


MOBO-nominated artist Michael Janisch is an American based in London and one of the country’s most in-demand jazz bassists and has worked with Joe Lovano, Lee Konitz and Kurt Rosenwinkel.


Drummer Gerald Cleaver has contributed to many ground-breaking albums of recent years with artists such as Wadada Leo Smith, William Parker and Henry Threadgill. He can also be heard on many ECM Records recordings by artists such as Miroslav Vitous, Tomasz Stanko and Craig Taborn.


A concert by modern greats simply not to be missed!


All gigs start at 8.15pm

No tickets available online but if you would like to reserve a seat please email:

All gigs at at The Blue Boar, 29 Market Close, Poole, Dorset, BH15 1NE (*unless indicated otherwise)